|NORTH REDINGTON BEACH|
Redington Beach was incorporated
in 1953 and lies half
way between the northern and southern tips of the barrier islands.
is a lovely mile long beach for residents as well as vacationers to
enjoy. North Redington Beach was once a popular hangout for celebrities
and sportsmen alike. It now offers upscale residential
neighborhoods consisting of condomendiums, town houses and
private homes most of which enjoy a waterfront view from each of the
four fingers that project into Boca Ciega Bay. Gulf Blvd. connects the
beach to the main thoroughfare and offers plenty of recreational areas
for residents and vacationers to spend a few days and enjoy this unique
|Belleair Beach is an upscale residential community that stretches two miles and borders Clearwater and Sand Key Park on the north and Indian Rocks Beach on the south. It was charted in 1950. The peaceful and laid back feel of an old fashion neighborhood invites retirees to put down their roots in this delightful spot. It is a resident only beach community that offers all the amenities including convenient shopping and recreational pursuits. this little island even boasts of having it's own police dept.|
a hurricane September 27, 1848, a section of
mainland in Pinellas County along the coastline was
flooded and an island was formed. This island became known as Madera
Beach. The section of water between the island and the mainland became
John's Pass, after the legendary pirate John LeVeque who was
have discovered it. (See article elsewhere on this site). Madera Beach
is a two mile stretch lying between Clearwater and St. Petersburg Beach
on the Gulf of Mexico. It is legendary for it's sandy white beaches and
clean streets. Anything one could ask for is there..dining, fishing,
shopping, recreation and more. If you like the night life then you will
love Madera Beach with it's many clubs and lounges.
Treasure Island got its name when some enterprising property owners manipulated the public into believing buried treasure had been discovered there. There was no treasure of course, but the name stuck. It was first settled by the Timucan Indians around 300 A.D and through the years the area slowly became populated by Europeans. Their descendants primarily lived in beach shacks and eeked out a living by living off the land fishing and harvesting turtles.
The "Great Gale" of 1848 split the island and created John's Pass on the Island's north end. Around 1900, St. Petersburg experienced a land boom and tourists started traveling to the beaches. They had to rely mostly on unreliable ferry service to get to the island because there wasn’t a bridge. Construction of A bridge to the island was begun in 1938 and completed in 1939. It was considered the best constructed bridge in Florida at the time. The first hotel was built on the Island in 1915 and was named the “Coney Island.” After World War Two more hotels and homes were built and in 1955 the City of Treasure Island was incorporated. Today Treasure Island is a unique blend of a laid back beach community as well as an internationally known family vacation destination.
Largo was named after its large lake, but ironically the lake which gave Largo its name was drained some fifty years later by the Cross Bayou Drainage District. Some believe Largo got its name from settlers who came from Largo, Scotland. Because of its rich farmlands Largo quickly became the center of the area’s citrus industry and earned the title “Citrus City.” The town was incorporated in 1905 and was the first town in Florida to adopt a town manager form of government. The 1920s was a boom time and during that period Largo grew rapidly. When the “Big Freeze” hit later in the decade and then the Great Depression came, Largo was hit hard and due to enormous debt its boundaries were changed and it became the Town of Largo.
The town was officially incorporated in 1905, and in 1913 became the first town in Florida - and second in the nation - to adopt a town manager form of government. The town grew rapidly through the boom times of the 1920s, but was hit hard by a freeze in the latter part of the decade, and then by the Great Depression. Due to mounting debt, the City of Largo was contracted to its original 1905 boundaries and once again became the Town of Largo. The population again rebounded after World War II growing from 1,500 residents in 1950 to over 5,300 a mere ten years later. Another freeze in 1962 resulted in large groves being sold off and the land developed for the growing population needing homes.
Today Largo has a population of over 74,000 residents. It is a “City of Progress” with downtown development underway. There is a cultural center and central park as well as a large street-scaping project going on.
The city of Oldsmar is a breath of fresh air in the middle of Pinellas County, the most densely county in the state of Florida. The town is named for Ransom Eli Olds, the inventor of the Oldsmobile, who bought thousands of acres and invested millions of dollars into its development. There were several name changes along the way, but eventually became known as Oldsmar. It is strategically situated between Tampa and St. Petersburg making it ripe for development. The raw essence of old Florida has been well preserved in Oldsmar where it grew slowly in the first few decades. It's population tripled in the 1980's growing faster than any other city around Tampa Bay and faster than almost any other city in the state. Its grown in its own time, with its own style, guided by people who understand how much a small town in Florida has to offer.
See...History Of Oldsmar
Pinellas Park was incorporated May of 1915. agriculture was the primary industry at the time, but it was a prime location for industrial growth. The first post office was established in 1910 and in 1912 the first school was built.
History Of Pinellas Park
Pinellas Park History
History of St. Petersburg...Chamber of Commerce