Florida in the 40’s
The Counties of the State and Their Capitals as They Were Sixty Years Ago

The Daily Capital presented the following copy of the file in the office of the secretary of state. It will be interesting in showing the changes and also the counties that composed the commonwealth of Florida sixty years ago. 

Executive Department
Tallahassee, July 3, 1845 

Sir- I have the honor to receive your communication, addressed to my predecessor, Governor Branch, in which you expressed a wish to be furnished with the counties of the state and also the names of the seats of justice thereof. 

In compliance of that request you have them hereto appended: 

Columbia County, Alligator Seat of Justice.


Alachua – Newnansville
Marion – Camp King
Benton – Annuttalagga
Hillsborough – Tampa Bay
Nassau – Nassau C. H.
Duval – Jacksonville
St. Johns – St. Augustine
Orange – Enterprise
St. Lucie – St. Lucie
Levy – Wacasassa
Hamilton – Jasper
Madison – Madison C. H.
Jefferson – Montecello
Leon – Tallahassee
Gadsden – Quincy
 Wakulla – New Port
Franklin – Apalachicola
Calhoun – Iola
Jackson – Marianna
Washington – Roach’s Bluff
Walton – Eucheanna
Escambia – Pensacola
Santa Rosa – Milton

Very respectively, your obedient servant,
W. D. Mosely, Governor of Florida, to the Honorable Jas. K. Polk, President of the States

Source: Ocala Evening Star: 8-3-1906

Transcribed, Formatted and Submitted by Linda Flowers

This Page Created December 2, 2012
 Copyrighted © 2012- Linda Flowers
Return To Levy Home    Return To: FLGW